A Hall of Fame Class for the Ages

Hall_of_Fame_inductees_JAWS_2015Data via Baseball-Reference.com

Randy Johnson, Pedro Martinez, John Smoltz and Craig Biggio will all be inducted into the Hall of Fame this weekend, composing one of the most memorable classes of recent years. Per JAWS, a metric that combines career and peak value to measure Hall of Fame worthiness, Johnson and Martinez are the first two players with scores of 70+ to be inducted simultaneously since Hank Aaron and Frank Robinson in 1982. (The average Hall of Fame player generally has a score around 55.) The above chart shows JAWS scores for all players elected by the BBWAA since the modern era of voting began in 1966.

Follow: @DiamondGraphs


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s